“The world is as soft as lace…”


“Nothing can be so amusingly arrogant as a young man who has just discovered an old idea and thinks it is his own.”
– Sidney Harris

“All bets are off when dealing with the French:” Why French Prosecutors Can Charge Continental Employees for Air France Crash

We’re already hearing about how “good looking” Halle Berry’s cub is. Way to kick start a lifetime battle with self-obsession and body image disorders.

******************************************************

Slept like absolute crap last night.

Went to bed around 12:30, tossed and turned for what felt like a half hour. No. It’s now 2:21 am.

Tossed and turned for what felt like the rest of the evening, this time while coughing. No. It’s now 4:43 am (with the neighbor’s alarm clock beeping for a half hour at least on the other side of the bedroom wall).

Tossed and turned, dozed, alarm clock at 6:43 am and I’m just drifting into what feels like it could legitimately be called “sleep.”

Son of a crap. >:-P

On the upside: Around 60% of the people I see on a daily basis right now are also sick, so I not only get to blame all of them in equal measure for contributing to my illness, but I get to revel in the fact that I’m not the only one whose voice has dropped an octave over the duration of this past cold and flu season. So Ha!

******************************************************

Blockbuster has just notified me it has shipped “Sybil” to me. Hooray! From “300”… to “Sybil”… My my my what a week I shall have.

Something weird’s going on with… something… so now we can receive email through Outlook here at work, but we can’t send email. I mean– we can send inter-departmental emails through Exchange, but we can’t reach anyone outside our domain. (Sure you can log in to Webmail, but that sucks.)

Anyway, I don’t know what to do to fix it because the error messages refer to Yahoo issues (our phone/internet are through AT&T), but the problems are all new and we haven’t changed any settings anywhere that I’m aware of.

This sucks, and is annoying. I wish we had a full-time IT person on staff. Obviously they’d have to be able to do other things as well, like manage all of our tech related accounts (phones, internet, cell phones, web hosting, etc.) and whip through some sweet AutoCAD, but seriously: if they could come fix all of our problems so people would stop asking RR, BW and me to make everything better when we have no clue what’s wrong right now, I would pay that person from my own pocket…

Leave a Reply

