“My shrink ran off to Europe, and didn’t even write…”


“A satirist is a man who discovers unpleasant things about himself and then says them about other people.”
Peter McArthur

“I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be.”
Douglas Adams

**********************************

One of the guys at the bar I go to had a birthday party there tonight. Yay Danimal! All my favorite peeps I’ve met there were also in attendance, causing the evening to qualify as “mega-fly.” And that’s always a plus.

One of the girls carved out a watermelon and filled it with fruit and brought dip for it (that’s her standing in the background of the watermelon pic). I cannot tell you how tempting I find an enormous piece of fruit filled with smaller pieces of fruit. Mmmmm num num num num. The blonde girl on the right side of the pic brought venison sausage (when I took my first bite she looks at me and goes “I killed that. Pretty cool, right?”), there was a big ol’ birthday cake, two crock pots of pulled pork for sandwiches, Dan pre-paid for a bunch of beer for everyone, and there was free pool all night. How stinkin’ fun is that, man? :D

It’s weird how quickly this became my “Cheers” place. I never would have thought it would become such a regular hangout for me when I first went there after a show, it’s just so new a style for me. The music’s fun, the dance floor’s very un-Mulligany in its absence of spilled drinks :P, the people who work there are all so welcoming and friendly, there’s an upper bar that’s open on busy nights, and they have the best beef jerky I’ve ever had in my entire life. Seriously. $1.75 gets you that much closer to heaven, dawg.

It’s wonderful getting to know these people from outside of the bar, too. Meeting their spouses and kids and pets, seeing their homes, learning about their jobs (some of them do really interesting things), meeting their exes (‘:O), hearing about their adventures as they go back to school– I love it. :)

Here’s a li’l vid I took there tonight. Happy birthday, Dan. :)

Yay!

Leave a Reply

