Rapid-Laying-Down


“Coming home from very lonely places, all of us go a little mad: whether from great personal success, or just an all-night drive, we are the sole survivors of a world no one else has ever seen.”
John le Carre

Tuesday: Juno
Wednesday: My Knees Were Jumping: Remembering the Kindertransports
Thursday: Silverlake Life: The View From Here
Friday: You Should Be So Lucky

So my rent won’t go up if I get a cat, but I *will* have to pay a $200 (refundable) deposit. And I still might not even be able to get one because it would be my first cat and generally they only let you have a cat here if you already had it. And it must be spayed and declawed. :P

We went out on the boat today after work. It was raining outside, and a bit windy. There was EE from work and his wife and two of their kids, and AS with fishing poles, and my mom and dad. We only went out for about an hour, hour and a half. And now– man I’m exhausted. I was so tired all day today. I had a coupon for a free entree at Noodles so I went there for lunch and then went back out to my car and slept for about 40 minutes.

But it wasn’t really sleep. It was– rapid-laying-down, you know what I mean? Like- I lay down and my heart was racing and I was exhausted and could barely sit back up I was so stinkin’ tired!! But something just wouldn’t let me fall asleep, exhausted as I was. I’m falling right to sleep at night these days. What the heck is up, man?

Flying to Texas on Monday around 12:15 in the morning. Or at least that’s the plan for now. It’d be so much cheaper if we could fly even just one week later. I’m going with one of our techs to pick up a few things from the warehouse down there, and then we’ll be driving it back up in one of our Sprinters we have down there.

What was it like to be in the medical profession in the 80s? All these people suddenly all dying at once of AIDS and nothing you’re doing seems to help at all or make anything better…

2 comments

  1. You want a cat? Drive down to Chicago and go to the city pound. They pretend to vet you, but even if you answer all of the questions down, you still walk out with a pet.

Leave a Reply

