Oh give me a home…


So many things to cover today I hardly know where to start. Oh wait, yes I do. I’ll start with JLo because JLo always comes first.

Jennifer Lopez

Jennifer Lopez Reveals Details of Her Pregnancy

Jennifer Lopez says she was “selfish” for the first time in her life while she was pregnant…

To which I can only respond with a resounding “bwahaha.” The first time, Ms. Lo? Really?

She goes on to describe how she told her husband to “take the reins,” giving further credence to my theory that she’s a domineering control freak since, apparently, she “held the reins” prior to the pregnancy. Last I checked a marriage was a partnership. What- she think she’s Ben Hur?

“‘I love doing things for you; if I’m not cooking, then I’m picking out a shirt. But this is the first time in my life where I’m just going to be a little bit selfish,'” she told Anthony, who turns 40 on Sept. 16. “‘I don’t know if I’m going to have kids again, so I want it to be a beautiful experience. I don’t want to have any drama. I want to just be smiling every day.'”

Listen, honey: If your 39 year old husband needs you to pick out his shirts, there’s something wrong with the both of ya’. And that’s very charming that you intend to have a smilingly drama free pregnancy. How many mothers did you consult to conclude that fairy tale was remotely attainable?

The article goes on to say that two weeks prior to giving birth Ms. Lo had a book of photos made of herself  as a gift to her 39 year old husband. You know– the guy whose wardrobe she chooses? I actually think this isn’t a terrible idea in spirit, but you know how when certain people do things, even things you really like, you can’t help but shake your head? I’m filled with an “it figures” feeling on this one.

But then, that’s usually what I get from reading about the exploits of Jennifer Lopez, so I really shouldn’t be surprised any more.

The English Language (read: “Ha Ha Suckers”)

Buffalo buffalo Buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo Buffalo buffalo

Because there’s nothing quite as entertaining as offering up a big “Screw You!” in the form of irritating word play to hordes of school children studying this crazy language in classrooms across the country, we have the ability to create sentences like the one linked above.

I first saw this sentence a few years ago with a highly literate friend and I don’t recall that we ever did get the damned thing figured out to any degree of real satisfaction. To save yourself the mental trauma of deciphering the tale of the buff’lo, you can follow the link above for a full run down, or peruse my handy dandy summary (from the linked page) below:

“Buffalo buffalo Buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo Buffalo buffalo.” is a grammatically correct sentence used as an example of how homonyms and homophones can be used to create complicated constructs. It has been discussed in literature since 1972 when the sentence was used by William J. Rapaport, currently an associate professor at the University at Buffalo. …

[T]he sentence when parsed reads as a description of the pecking order in the social hierarchy of buffaloes living in Buffalo:

… THE buffalo FROM Buffalo WHO ARE buffaloed BY buffalo FROM Buffalo ALSO buffalo THE buffalo FROM Buffalo.

Makes perfect sense!

Peter Fox

The awesomest video you haven’t seen, unless of course you’re one of the at least 1.5 million people who have seen it:

From the text accompanying the video post: “Das neue Video (Official Content) von Peter Fox zu seiner ersten Single “Alles Neu”. Ab dem 15.08.2008 in den Läden! http://www.peterfox.de”

Wordle

I’ve been seeing these word cloud pictures popping up with greater and greater frequency lately and finally bothered tracing them to their source.

The site is www.Wordle.net and the gist of it is you insert text, or a link to a site with an RSS feed, and Wordle runs the text or link through it’s black magic algorithms to produce a word cloud of the words used in that text or linked page, with the words appearing according to their frequency of use. You can control the fonts used, the layout, the colors. It’s a pretty neat little thing, really.

Naturally I had to make several of these as soon as I discovered the site because I do not have it in me to not interact with every eToy that crosses my path. When I’ve got things all wrapped up here I’ll make one using the contents of this post.

Oh- looks like that’s right now. Enjoy!

One comment

Leave a Reply

