“How much do you love me?” And “Who’s in charge?”


Quite the successful trip to Half Price Books today. Allow me a post to gloat over my fantastic- and fantastically priced- finds…

BOOKS

1. Eat Pray Love” by Elizabeth Gilbert: $3

This doesn’t impress me at first glance as the type of book I’d generally get into, but after watching Gilbert’s TED talk I realized I rather enjoy the woman herself and so ought to give her tome a try.

2. Myths, Lies, And Downright Stupidity: Get Out the Shovel – Why Everything You Know Is Wrong” by John Stossel: $3

I always dug Stossel on 20/20, and the more I hear from him as I get older, the more interested I am in what he has to say. That is: As I get progressively more boring, world worn, and crows footed, the more I find merit in his opinions.

3.The Big Book of Beastly Mispronunciations” by Charles Harrington Elster: $3

calm KAHM. The l is properly silent. Do not say KAHLM or KAWLM.
salmon SAM-un. L is silent, a as in ham. Anything else is beastly — er, fishy.
pianist pee-AN-ist (or PYAN-ist). PEE-uh-nist is chiefly British.

4.The Complete Book of Fitness” by the Editors of Fitness Magazine with Karen Andes: $3

It seemed like a good idea at the time. It was followed by another good idea: A Kona Mocha chocolate shake from Kopp’s. My ideas: they just get better and better and better…

MUSIC

1. Animaniacs by a bunch of insane voice actors: $2

2. Ok Goby Ok Go: $2

3. The Book of Secrets by Loreena McKennitt: $2

4. Dilateby Ani DiFranco: $2

5.Supposed Former Infatuation Junkie by Alanis Morisette: $2

6. Begin to Hope by Regina Spektor: $2

All for a grand total of $25.34, which I put on a gift card. A good feeling, my friends. An exceptionally good feeling on an exceptionally beautiful day. A day which I need to get back outside and enjoy a little more before it’s over…

********************************

“I met an old lady once, almost one hundred years old, and she told me, “There are only two questions that human beings have ever fought over, all through history. How much do you love me? And Who’s in charge?” Everything else is somehow manageable.”
– “Eat, Pray, Love,” p. 157

9 comments

  1. Oh yes, absolutely. Half Price Books is pretty much my favorite store in the universe. I got my first-edition of “A Game of Thrones” there for a buck. It was an insane find.

  2. Although I dug the single when they hit (and it justifies the $2 purchase), I do recall the classic 2 word album review that was published of ‘Ok….No’ as making me feel stupid for laughing at something so obvious.

  3. this is quite the catch–well done, you! i think i would chuck #4 out the window, but i’m sometimes just a brat like that. :)

Leave a Reply

