25 Predictably Illustrated Cliches


© Thomas Kinkade

The questions below are from a page of “25 beautifully illustrated thought-provoking questions.”

“Beautiful” may be a bit of an over-statement here. “Cliche” might be a more apt description in this age of everyone and their great aunt having access to Google Image Search and free photo editing programs.

As for “thought provoking questions”– there wasn’t a single one that hasn’t been sent to me via forwarded email with glittering kitty cat attachments. Truly: If there are any accompanying thoughts, they’ve long since been provoked.

All the same– some of ’em are worth answering out loud. So I’ve done just that. (For most of ’em. The rest I’m just including to satisfy your “which questions didn’t Ruth think were worth answering” curiosity.)

Please Note: By reading this far you have committed yourself to answering a minimum of 4 (four) of these “thought-provoking questions” in the comments section below.

Ha. Ha. Ha.

1. How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you were?
23

2. If you had the opportunity to get a message across to a large group of people, what would your message be?
I hope I never actually get this opportunity because I don’t trust myself to make the right choice when narrowing down which message to go with. How ’bout… This isn’t all there is. Be patient with your kids. Everything merits forgiveness, but try harder not to need it, Ass.

3. Is it possible to lie without saying a word?

4. If not now, then when?
Point taken. *commences establishing a new Mint.com budget and writing emails*

5. What would you do differently if you knew nobody would judge you?
Sing along, instead of just mouthing the words. Dance even when all the girls are “hottt,” instead of just tapping my foot.

6. Are you holding onto something that you need to let go of?
Ohhhh yeah. Lots of things. And I’ll let them go. But not yet, because holding onto nothing at all seems even more unsettling.

7. Have you done anything lately worth remembering?
No.

8. Who do you love? What are you doing about it?
My family. Not leaving.

9. When is it time to stop calculating risk and rewards, and just do what you know is right?
As soon as you know you won’t be hurting those you love: GO.

10. Do you think crying is a sign of weakness or strength?
Depends on the context. Could be a sign of weakness, strength, manipulation, passive aggression, courage, relief…

11. Would you break the law to save a loved one?
Assuming we’re not talking speeding or being double parked: No. I wouldn’t. And maybe that response needs some justification, some clarification. Then again– a little more specificity in the question might help, too.

12. When you’re her age, what will matter to you the most? (The accompanying picture features a smiling, very elderly woman.)
The relationships I had with God and my family, and if I did enough to show them how much I loved them.

13. Do you ask enough questions? Or do you settle for what you know?
I’m more of a settler than I’d like to be. I just picked up a book from the library called “Curiosity.” I think it dealt with this very topic, but the book settled to the bottom of my To-Read pile and I wasn’t curious enough to see what I was missing. How fitting… I blame the predictability of my current situation. :P

14. Do you celebrate the things you do have?

15. When it’s all said and done, will you have said more than you’ve done?
Yes. Definitely. By far.

16. When was the last time you tried something new?
April, when I participated in The Great Milwaukee Race. Been a lot of “same old- same old” since then.

17. Which activities make you lose track of time?
Playing Bejeweled Blitz and solitaire, reading George R. R. Martin and missions blogs, watching ferret videos on YouTube…

18. If you could do it all over again, would you change anything?
Yes. Different college, different major, moved sooner, moved again sooner, read more, slept less, bought a digital camera sooner (and used it more), clocked more air miles, slacked off less on my Spanish…

19. What is the difference between living and existing?

20. If you had a friend who spoke to you in the same way that you sometimes speak to yourself, how long would you allow that person to be your friend?
Oh man. I’d ditch her in a heartbeat and then talk smack about her to whoever’d listen.

21. If you had to teach something, what would you teach?
Writing. (See question 5)

22. Time or money?
Time. Time time time.

23. Are you aware that someone has it worse than you do?

24. What makes you smile?
Joking around with my family, movie nights with Aaron, watching my white ferret, Wesley, follow me around the apartment while simultaneously trying to nap.

25. What would you regret not fully doing, being, or having in your life?
Doing: Getting off my butt re: my current dreams and ambitions.
Being: More ambitious. (Not Lady MacB. ambitious. Just, y’know, regular ambitious.)
Having: A stronger relationship with God. As with most things I tend to hit this lazy streak…

****

Your turn. Go go go!

3 comments

  1. …I’ve committed myself. *in a really over dramatic voice* DAMN YOU, RUTH! ;)

    I’ll do 4 of these, unless I feel like doing more.

    1. What would you do differently if you knew nobody would judge you?

    Everything.

    2. What would you regret not fully doing, being, or having in your life?

    Doing: Not letting people get close enough to me to actually be close to me. (If that makes sense.)

    Being: More sociable.

    Having: A true friend.

    3. If you had a friend who spoke to you in the same way that you sometimes speak to yourself, how long would you allow that person to be your friend?

    I don’t think of myself as a bad person, and I rarely ever think poorly of myself, so I think I would be best friends with them :)

    4. If you could do it all over again, would you change anything?

    I would love to say that I would. However, all of my experiences and choices in life have shaped who I am today, and the people I surround myself with. I wouldn’t change anything, because that would risk me losing everything and everyone that I have.

    There we go! 4 question! :)

Leave a Reply

