Tcl Tcl/Tk, the mouse ran up the clock


Me: Would you love me more if my name was made up of numbers?

Aaron:

Me: What if my name was Java C++?

Aaron: Ooh baby!

Me: D’oh! I should’ve said Perl…

Aaron: Did you know there’s a programming language called Lisp?

Me: Does it sound anything like Python?

Aaron: *lol*

*******************************************************

Yesterday: Aaron and I went to the museum, visited the Mummy exhibit (they had a mummified weasel head!),  the butterfly exhibit, and watched a mom freak out her kid by pressing the rattlesnake button at the buffalo hunt display. Good times.

Last Night: I dreamed I was with a group of people digging out all the dirt around this enormous tree, its trunk extending far below the surface of the ground.  We dug for hours, maybe days, and never reached the roots. Just foot after foot of knotty trunk, bending, bulging, and totally misshapen.

After we’d dug as deep as we could before resting, I noticed a white, furry lump near the roots. It was Wesley, my white and gray ferret who follows me around my apartment, often so close at my heels he ends up napping with his chin perched on my toes. When I found him in the dirt beside the tree he was barely breathing, all curled up, paws curled shut, his eyes half closed. I didn’t know what to do. And I couldn’t stop to help him because I had to finish helping the group I was with as we… dug… a tree… I really have no idea what the purpose of the tree endeavor was.

I handed Wesley over to someone who’d been digging with  us, begging them to please be careful with him, try and feed him some water, hold him, monitor his condition and let me know if anything changes. I went back to work, returning to Wesley some time later only to find he’d been abandoned by whoever it was I’d asked to help me. This time he was so far beyond recovery that all I could do was hold him in my arms and nuzzle my face into his side as it eventually ceased its shallow rise and fall.

I hope the tree project was worth it. I think it was, but I still woke up missing my little friend.

Today: Woke up with a headache like my head against a board on account of three deceptively strong Sayonaras (sake + plum wine). Wowzers.

Tomorrow: Taking all three sections of the NCRC at WCTC starting around noon.

From “Closer To Fine”

Well darkness has a hunger that’s insatiable
And lightness has a call that’s hard to hear
I wrap my fear around me like a blanket
I sailed my ship of safety till I sank it, I’m crawling on your shore.

I stopped by the bar at 3 a.m.
To seek solace in a bottle or possibly a friend
I woke up with a headache like my head against a board
Twice as cloudy as I’d been the night before
And I went in seeking clarity.

5 comments

  1. I’ve been wanting to ask you for a long time: have you ever been able to stop yourself in the middle of a dream and redirect it? I used to do that. But I think it puts the body in some kind of strange half-awake state where you’re continuing to think your dream while still unconscious. It’s also a very eerie state because you cannot move your body–i mean total paralysis–like not even your eyelids. At least that’s what I remember.

    I haven’t tried to do it in a long time, but I used to do it mostly so that I could maintain contiguous sleep back in college. It kept me from having interrupted sleep and then end up being groggy for the day.

    I used to sometimes be overwhelmed by horrific nightmares back then. And our psycho crit classes did not help. (I also used to fall asleep watching horror/psycho thrillers on repeat.) Sometimes they were dreams of loss, other times they were predictions of the future, fears or expectations–things I wished wouldn’t happen to me but that I knew where inevitable in the dream. At some point in my sleep I realized I didn’t want the dream to happen the way I perceived it would unfold and so I began redirecting my unconscious mind.

    Anyway I’ve always wanted to ask you that since you share some of the most interesting dreams.

  2. Thank goodness it was just a dream! I dream about my fuzzies all the time. Usually I’m getting even more ferrets, and feeling bad about it cause I already have so many and I have promised not to get more. Last time I got a black ferret named Jordyn (that’s how it was spelled in the dream cause my youngest named it.) I know it sounds silly, but that is the weirdest part of the dream for me. Jordyn does not fit in with the names of my fuzzies! LOL

Leave a Reply

